SANFLUA Statement: New President and Committee Members for Season 2018

Last nights AGM saw the election of Goal Umpire and 2017 SANFLUA Committee Member Matt Cummins as our new President for a term of 2 years. Matt brings with him a wealth of experience amongst SANFL Umpiring ranks, having started his career in 2006. Matt came on board the Committee for the first time last year, taking on the Social Media Portfolio.

Two new faces were also elected to the Committee for Season 2018. Goal Umpire Tom Sharpe jumps back on board after a short stint away from the Committee. We welcome a first timer to the Committee in Boundary Umpire Terence Carter. Terence will tackle the Social Secretary portfolio. Welcome aboard guys.

We had 3 Committee members, Secretary Andrew Crosby, Treasurer Sean Burton and long time Committee Member Abdul Alpaslan all re-elected for a further 2 year terms.

SANFLUA and its Members and Life Members would like to thank outgoing President Matthew Norton for his fantastic contribution to our Association. He certainly steered SANFLUA back into positive territory. His tireless work will be a great springboard for the Committee moving forward. Good luck with your future adventures.

Chris Cook departs the Committee after many years of hard work. Chris took charge of the Social Secretary Portfolio and performed admirably during his tenure. We thank Chris for his efforts and wish you all the best for the future.

We’d like to thank all Members and Life Members who attended last night’s AGM at The Gilbert St Hotel. We look forward to seeing you all through out the coming season.


SANFLUA Committee