Experienced Team Announced for 2021 SANFL League Grand Final

We’re pleased to announce the team to take the field on Sunday October 3rd in the 2021 SANFL League Grand Final. The year has had it’s challenges once again for our group, but like last year, the resilience and professionalism of the group has shined through. An experienced team has again been appointed to the decider at Adelaide Oval between Woodville-West Torrens and Glenelg, with just one Umpire making his SANFL League Grand Final debut.

Tom Bryce will officiate in his 2nd League Grand Final on Sunday

Of the three Field Umpires charged with keeping Sunday’s Grand Final under control, Tom Bryce is the least experienced. Tom will officiate his 2nd League Grand Final, after making his debut in 2019 and sitting on the bench in 2020. Mitchell Harris will take charge of his 4th straight League Grand Final and Corey Bowen has been appointed to his 6th League Grand Final. Up and coming developing Field Umpire Mitchell Scott is the Emergency Field Umpire, his first involvement in a SANFL League Grand Final.

Boundary Umpire Brayden Thiel will Umpire his 3rd League Grand Final

Our team running the Boundary will once again be full of experience. Sam Royans will officiate his 6th League Grand Final in a row, taking his overall tally to 7 League Grand Finals. Joining Sam are Bradyen Thiel, who will run in his 3rd SANFL League Grand Final and Isaac Fishlock umpires his 2nd Grand Final in a row. The quartet of Boundary Umpires is rounded out by Ben Williams, who makes his SANFL League Grand Final debut.

Rhys Negerman will umpire his 4th SANFL League Grand Final on Sunday

Standing in the goals on Sunday are a pair that will umpire their 3rd SANFL League Grand Final together. Matthew Cummins will officiate his 8th League Grand Final, with the 2018 decider being his last appearance. Rhys Negerman notches up his 4th League Grand Final, having previously officiated the 2016, 2018 and 2019 Grand Finals. Tom Sharpe, who has Umpired 3 SANFL League Grand Finals will be the Emergency.

The Reserves Grand Final will be played prior to Sunday’s League Grand Final at Adelaide Oval. Field Umpires Josh Hardy, Harrison Hughes and Jack Millar will run around in the middle. Mason Beyer is the Emergency Field Umpire. The Boundary Umpires team will consist of Patrick Cannard, James Sutton, Jaxon Williams and Matthew Zacher. Keeping score in the goals will be Tom Fahey and Brad Hammer, with Georgia Henderson the Emergency Goal Umpire.

The U18s Grand Final was played at Adelaide on Saturday September 18th. Our team on the day were Field Umpires Zachery Packard, Zack Brittan and Max Richardson with Kyle Hetherington the Emergency. The Boundary Umpires were Blayde Harten, Jake Creasey, Nathan Becker and Gianny Scoleri and in the Goals were Jonty Leslie and Tom Mayo with Michael Lombardi the Emergency.

Congratulations to all Umpires selected in our Grand Final Teams for 2021. Good luck to those running this weekend at Adelaide Oval.

The SANFLUA Committee would like to thank all our umpires who worked tirelessly in 2021. It was another challenging year for the group. Enjoy the offseason and we look forward to seeing you all again, with some new faces, in season 2022.

SANFL League Grand Final Statistics (including the 2021 Grand Final)

Field Umpires

Corey Bowen – 333 League games, 6 League Grand Finals (2008, 2009, 2017, 2018, 2020, 2021 Emergency 2012)

Tom Bryce – 75 League games, 2 League Grand Finals (2019, 2021, Emergency 2020)

Mitch Harris – 94 League games, 4 League Grand Finals (2018, 2019, 2020, 2021)

Mitch Scott (Emergency) – 100 League Games (First involvement in a League Grand Final)

Boundary Umpires

Isaac Fishlock – 72 League games, 2 League Grand Finals (2020, 2021)

Sam Royans^ – 235 League games, 7 League Grand Finals (2014, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021)

Brayden Theil – 127 League games, 3 League Grand Finals (2017, 2019, 2021)

Ben Williams – 53 League games, 1 League Grand Final (2021)

Goal Umpires

Matthew Cummins – 278 League games, 8 League Grand FinalsĀ  (2007, 2008, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2016, 2018, 2021, Emergency 2010, 2014)

Rhys Negerman – 142 League games, 4 League Grand Finals (2016, 2018, 2019, 2021)

Tom Sharpe (Emergency) – 158 League games, 3 League Grand Finals (2015, 2017, 2020, Emergency 2021)

^Denotes non-SANFLUA Member

Stats courtesy of SANFLUA Statistician Steven Paunovic

by SANFLUA Committee